“Your kind aren’t welcomed here…”

Posted: 2012/02/15 in Doctrine & Theology, Family, Leadership, Personal Journey, The Church, Worship
Tags:

Tuesday, February 14, 2012 @ 4:45pm

True story. I just met a black guy named Billy at the Sam’s Club fuel pumps in Jackson, TN. We got to talking about life and church for a minute and he said to me that not too long ago he was talking to another white guy who was a pastor at a church here in Jackson about his church. He said that he asked the pastor if any black people went to his church and the pastor responded, “We have a lot of important people at our church with a lot of money and if any of your kind came to our church, it would run them off.”

I was blown away. Even if the guy was lying, which I don’t suspect he was, it’s sad that his impression of “white churches” is that way. What’s worse is that Billy seemed to recall the pastor’s words verbatim. I told Billy that apparently that pastor had not read the book of James and that was a ridiculous thing to say. I also told him that the pastor with his church full of white, wealthy, elitist could all go to hell with their money. I meant that.

God, save us from being like that.

Leave a comment